The grossest crime: tru stories

Sarah, wearing sweats she’s had since college, comes in after run, hears Tru Tv network blasting dramatized, sexualized, slyly fictionalized real-life-murder tales from Betty’s bedroom again

Sarah: Doesn’t it depress you to watch that stuff all day?

Betty: No. I like it. I like trying to figure out the mystery, figure out who did it. Does it bother you?

Sarah: It makes me sad.

Betty: Like for the people who got shot?

Sarah: For everyone involved. The whole mess.

Betty: You never could have been a cop.

Sarah: Yeah, and I never wanted to be a cop.

::Sarah starts shower, realizes something, leaves water running and returns in towel::

Sarah: You know how I said I never wanted to be a cop?

Betty: Yeah.

Sarah: That’s not true. When I was a kid, for years I wanted to be an FBI agent.

Betty: You probably would’ve been good at it. Solving crimes.

Sarah: It was after we saw The Silence of the Lambs.

Betty: That was a good movie.

Sarah: I wanted to be like Starling and kick some ass.

Betty: Well that movie was gross. That was way grosser than any of these shows.

Sarah: That didn’t bother me.

::Betty rolls eyes; Sarah remembers with amusement that almost ten years ago, while training for the New York City Marathon, she’d run along the Hudson River listening to a very darkly humorous song inspired by Thomas Harris’s “Buffalo Bill” character (so-named in the novel by Kansas City homicide detectives)::

